The new Iridium GO! is a stand-alone hotspot device designed for use with iOS and Android smartphones and tablets. There is no need for a separate satellite phone. The only cable you need is a micro-USB cable used for recharging the internal battery. All connections are made through Wi-Fi and up to 5 smart devices can connect to the GO! simultaneously.


Here are the top six things we like about the Iridium GO!

  • It is easy to make phone calls over the Iridium network from the Iridium GO! app -- even if you are using an iPad that cannot make cell phone calls. The sound quality is better than the sound quality of standard Iridium satellite phones.

  • This is a GPS position report from an GO! as seen on an iPhone. The bottom frame shows the map view that occurs when you click the hyperlink.
  • Iridium GO! is great for texting, and Iridium offers several plans with unlimited texting.Iridium GO! is a great tool for vehicle tracking. You can send out position reports at equal time spacings as small as 5 minutes apart. GPS position reports are sent as text messages. This means selecting one of the unlimited texting plans lets you achieve global vehicle tracking -- even every 5 minutes -- for a very reasonable fixed monthly fee!
  • You can send an S.O.S. emergency text message with your GPS location using a red button on the Iridium GO!. You can also send the S.O.S. message from one of the connected smart devices. If you are using a smart device, the S.O.S. function can also initiate a voice call to any number you choose to program.

  • Different privileges can be set for different user account. For example, one user can be given the ability to make outbound phone calls while another user can be limited to texting. Since GO! is a multi-user device, this ability is a critical budget-protection tool.

  • GO! works on regular Iridium prepaid and postpaid service plans so customers with existing SIMs can use them in their Iridium GO! device. Also, Iridium offers special plans for the GO! with unlimited texting and internet access.

Here are a few things we didn't like about Iridium GO!

  • It is possible to view some mobile-optimized web sites. That said, Iridium GO!, which has a data speed of 2400-2800 bps (best case), is really not fast enough for web browsing applications. Happily, we did find that email and photo-sharing worked quite well.
  • As with other Iridium satellite phones, we often had trouble getting a signal, though with a little patience we were able to use the Iridium GO! effectively. Iridium is currently building its second generation Iridium NEXT satellites, which they expect to put into orbit between 2015 and 2017. This should remove most of the gaps in signal that Iridium users are occasionally experiencing now.
  • Another limitation of the Iridium GO! is that it is currently limited to iOS and Android devices. Apparently Windows PCs and Mac computer users will have to wait.

Comparison of Iridium GO! with the new Globalstar Sat-Fi Hotspot

This summer, both Iridium and Globalstar launched their own new stand-alone hotspot devices aimed at smart phone users. The Globalstar Sat-Fi hotspot has many features including a hardware price of $999 that are similar to Iridium GO!. In our opinion, Globalstar Sat-Fi is primarily beneficial to fixed-site users in North America, such as owners of remote cabins or other such facilities. Its unlimited Basic Rate voice plan may be a great value for many users with remote cabins and lodges. Here are some strengths and weaknesses of the Globalstar Sat-Fi compared to the Iridium GO!:

  • While GO! has unlimited SMS and unlimited data plans, it does not have unlimited voice plans like Globalstar.
  • Sat-Fi requires the use of an external antenna and external power. Iridium GO! is a stand-alone device with a built-in battery that works fine without any external antenna. An optional antenna adapter for external antenna applications is available.
  • Globalstar Sat-Fi has a much smaller than Iridium GO!. Sat-Fi coverage includes parts of the continental U.S., Canada, and the Caribbean. Iridium offers global coverage.

How to Buy an Iridium GO! or Globalstar Sat-Fi

Outfitter Satellite now has the long-awaited Iridium GO! hotspot available to ship. For more information or to purchase an Iridium GO! visit our online store. The Globalstar Sat-Fi can also be ordered online. Airtime service can be selected and activated through the online store as well.


*All prices and offers mentioned in this article are valid as of the time of the writing of this article but are subject to change without notice.

#NoCellService

32 Comments

Mr Colin Darling

Date 10/9/2014

We are an Australian registered Lagoon 44' sailing catamaran and we are crossing the Atlantic East to West in Jan 15. We have 4 people on-board, one of whom hopes to be able to do short Blog updates. As owner and captain, all I want is to be able to send an receive short emails, weather GRIB files, and to be able to make an emergency call from my iPhone if the need arises. The tracking feature is a bonus but not essential. I hope you can let me know if the Iridium GO can do what I want. I would also like to know if I need to pay to subscribe to some organisation who can compress emails, or pay for 1 or 2 month plus a connection fee just ahead of the Atlantic crossing. I understand if the fee lapses, I can be re-connected at another time by paying a $50 connection fee. ** We will be in Gibraltar for about 10 days from 1st November 2014 so I need to know any special shipping conditions if I provide an address in Gibraltar Kind regards Mr Colin Darling S/Y "Finally My Darling"

Mr Colin Darling

Date 10/10/2014

Hi Jim and thanks for your prompt and detailed reply. All I need now is a quote that includes the following: 1. The Iridium Go! plus an external antenna with 10.0 M cable 2. Two months of Go! Unlimited airtime with activation from 1st December 2014 plus initial connection fee and SIM 3. Shipping to Gibraltar to be in Gibraltar - address to be provided soon, to have the shipment in Gibraltar by 2nd Nov 2014 I think the next time we would require re-activation would be just ahead of our planned Pacific crossing in about March of 2016 but if we like the service while in the Caribbean, we may just extend month-by-month Looking forward to you earliest reply Kind regards Col

outfittertech

Date 10/9/2014

Hi Colin, Yes, the Iridium GO! should serve your needs nicely. There is a free Mail & Web app for your iPhone, iPad or Android device that supports social media, email and web browsing. Up to 5 iPhone or iPad devices can connect simultaneously, though only one can make a voice call at any given time. You can give each user his/her own username and password and control their privileges, e.g. limit who can make voice calls. The Iridium GO! app lets you send emergency SOS notifications from your iPhone, too. I suggest the Unlimited GO! Plan which is month-to-month so you can keep it active for a few months (for your November through January sail) and then deactivate without penalty until you need it again. It has unlimited direct internet access and unlimited SMS (texting) for $125 per month (plus any applicable taxes and fees). The GPS tracking function uses SMS messaging so the unlimited plan would let you send tracking positions every 5 minutes if you wanted to do so. We would need to send you a new SIM every time you need to reactivate, but just call us a few days in advance for delivery anywhere in the US. Allow a little more time if we need to ship to Gibraltar. For more information on Iridium GO! plans, click here. Since GRIB files take time to download over the 2400 bps Iridium satellite network, the Unlimited GO! Plan's unlimited direct internet data access would keep costs down for you. Other types of calls are billed by the minute. In particular, voice calls on the Unlimited GO! plan are currently $1.19 per minute. Look at the service agreement for more information. Let me know if you have any other questions we can help you with. Jim

Kent

Date 10/12/2014

Question.. Is the Iridium Go base unit resellable to a third party..?? If the unit does not work well at my winter cabin ( emergency) do I have the right to resell it..?? I have tried Hughes Net and a couple of local microwave repeaters but they just don't work good in my steep canyon. This unit looks like my answer plus reselling the Go base is an important buying point..thanks Kent

outfittertech

Date 4/16/2015

Hi, For the benefit of our other readers that may not be aware of it, Iridium NEXT refers to the second generation satellites that Iridium is currently launching to replace its first generation satellites. The enhanced features of Iridium NEXT are expected to begin being rolled out starting sometime during 2017. Eventual service enhancements will include raising the circuit-switched data speed from 2.4 kbps to the range between 9.46-64 kbps. Iridium OpenPort data speeds actually will increase from their current 132 kbps value to between 128 and 512 kbps. I am sure you realize that there is a continuing march of technological progress in every area. So whatever you buy today won't be as good as what you can buy in a couple years. Today's Iridium GO! offers global 2.4 kbps circuit-switched data which is suitable for light data applications such as emails with relatively small attachments (say under 100KB). Customers that need voice, text or 2.4 kbps data with global coverage before late 2017 probably need to buy or rent an Iridium GO! now. Iridium has informed us that today's Iridium GO! device will continue to offer the same capabilities (2.4 kbps data) after Iridium NEXT is rolled out. In order to get the faster data speeds available on Iridium NEXT, new equipment will be required. We will have details on the capabilities and pricing of that new equipment sometime in 2017. We almost certainly will have a trade-in program too. Everyone does not need the faster data. Hope that helps. Jim

Peter

Date 4/14/2015

The trade-in feature may prove useful when customers find out that the current version of the Iridium Go! will not be capable of adapting to the faster data speeds promised by Iridium's new "NEXT" satellite system, which is being implemented over the next 2-3 years.

outfittertech

Date 10/15/2014

Hi Kent, Yes, you could resell the Iridium GO! device to anyone. You should deactivate your service plan of course. Also, Outfitter Satellite usually does trade ins if you decide to buy a different type of satellite phone from us. Iridium GO! is suitable for voice calling and text. In fact there is a plan with unlimited texting. Iridium GO! only offers VERY SLOW internet (2.4 kbps). Jim

Victor Raymond

Date 10/20/2014

I have an Iridium Extreme that I would to trade in for the Go. I would also like the unlimited data plan. Can you help with this. I was in AK this past summer and was frustrated with up to date WX information so I need to make some changes before I go back next year. Thank you

outfittertech

Date 10/21/2014

Yes, we do have a trade-in program for Iridium 9505A/9555/9575 users wanting to upgrade to Iridium GO!. Please call our Customer Service at 615-889-8833 (8:30 am to 5:30 pm Central Time) to get complete information.

John Colebourne

Date 10/21/2014

Hi there, I am after a similar set up to the skipper/owner of The Australian Catamaran. I need the unlimited monthly plan as suggested and the Irridium Go unit. I will need it delivered to Gibraltar asap as we are leaving here early November, can this be done? Please contact me asap at the above email address. Regards, John Colebourne

outfittertech

Date 10/21/2014

Hi John, I will have a customer service representative contact you.

Gary Groth-Marnat

Date 10/21/2014

We plan to cruise in our boat in the S Pacifica and Sea of Cortez and need a device that will enable us to conduct our internet business with sometimes large emails. How large are the emails we can send/receive? Note that previous options we have investigated did not work for us since they were only able to send/receive quite small emails.

outfittertech

Date 10/21/2014

Hi Gary, The Unlimited GO! Plan for $125 per month (plus any applicable USF/fees/taxes) would give you unlimited Iridium Direct Internet service. That said, the Iridium GO! only has a data rate of 2.4 to 2.8 kbps so it cannot be considered a broadband internet access device. You can send or receive emails with long body texts easily, but if you attach large files to your emails you may be dissatisfied. A 1 MB digital camera shot could easily take more than an hour to transmit. If all you are doing is sending and receiving text-based email then Iridium GO! could be your solution. If large file attachments are needed, you should look at a broadband system. Our Sailor 150 FleetBroadband system will provide up to 150 kbps up or down and voice calling capability. That is more than 60 times faster than the Iridium GO!. Inmarsat FleetBroadband provides excellent coverage except for the polar regions. We offer prepaid plans for users that have short term (less than 60 day at a time) applications. Because there are a lot of service plan options, I recommend that you call us at 615-889-8833 (8:30 am to 5:30 pm Central Time) to discuss your application. Regards, Jim

Martin Brooks

Date 11/15/2014

Greetings Team Outfitter, I have an embarrassingly basic question: if the GO will the support emails (albeit slowly), will it also enable internet banking and bill payments? Thanks, Martin Brooks

Martin Brooks

Date 11/18/2014

The Iridium GO! is not a broadband device and only provides 2.4-2.8 kbps. That is 10 times slower than a typical old-fashioned dialup connection. It is around 1000 times slower than a typical cable modem connection. So, I would say that the GO! is definitely not suitable for the internet banking or bill payment applications I have used. Also, the GO! uses a specialized web browser (included when you download the app). This may cause additional problems. We do offer the Inmarsat BGAN high speed internet terminal like the Wideye Sabre 1 that would have no problem with either of the applications you mentioned. See http://outfittersatellite.com/bganterminals.html fore more information.

Jay Jolley

Date 11/18/2014

I am considering the Iridium GO my airplane. Based on the reviews read, it seems to be a good match for texts and text only emails w/o attachments and can service multiple users. Do you know if this application has been successful in airplanes?

outfittertech

Date 11/18/2014

Hi Jay, Yes we have had aircraft users of the Iridium GO!. The Standard+150 GO! (for $99/mo) and Unlimited GO! (for $125/mo) plans both allow unlimited SMS messaging (aka texting) as part of the monthly fee. So far most of our aircraft seem to have been interested in the fact that the GO!'s tracking feature uses SMS messaging to send out the tracking reports. This means that you can send automatic position reports all day long for as little as $99/mo. If you also are going to do a lot of emailing, then pick the Unlimited GO! plan for $125/mo. See http://outfittersatellite.com/activate-iridium-go-service.html for more information. It needs to be remembered that the Iridium GO! is NOT a broadband internet device. It only provides 2.4-2.8 kbps. This is adequate for text-based emails, but if you add a 1 MB file attachment to your email, it could take over an hour to transmit it -- which is pretty painful. Jim

sam

Date 11/25/2014

Hi Jim, What experience does the Iridium Go have in the Antarctic? I have a small team heading there in early Jan and we hope to be able to post text, voice and image updates. I understand the app compresses the info being sent - but can it get an image down to less than 1MB? Please let me know what you know about Antarctic travel and the Iridium Go.

outfittertech

Date 11/25/2014

The Iridium GO! does work in the Antarctic. You can send email attachments via GO!. Speed is an issue. At 2400-2800 bps via the GO!, a 1 MB email attachment will take more than hour! Inmarsat BGAN which has a much higher data speed covers a very small part of the Antarctic (see http://outfittersatellite.com/bgan.html#BGANcoverage)

sindi

Date 12/4/2014

i just wanted to know if i am able to make a skype voice call from the iridium go?

outfittertech

Date 12/4/2014

No, Skype voice uses more bandwidth than is possible over the Iridium network. Inmarsat BGAN (Broadband Global Area Network) can support Skype voice. For more information on that click here. We currently have a great deal on used the Wideye Sabre 1 Inmarsat BGAN terminal.

Kyle

Date 12/10/2014

Hi there, I came across this post while looking for a satellite internet solution for my company. We are a medium sized firm that is hired to perform geophysical surveys in all parts of the world (mostly remote locations with zero cell coverage). We need something that would allow us to transmit 10MB to 250MB per day. From what I have read here, the Iridium GO! would not be suitable, however I am curious if the Inmarsat BGAN might work? Could you shed some light on this for me? Thanks! Kyle

outfittertech

Date 12/10/2014

You are correct that the Iridium GO! is inadequate for heavy usage. BGAN is easily capable of doing what you need. A class 1 BGAN offers up to 492 kbps up/down (though 400 kbps is more typical) with some terminal models weighing as little as 5.5 lb. There are many BGAN service plans available. In general the larger the bundle commitment the lower the effective per MB cost. The highest plan we offer has a 2000 MB per month bundle (assuming only Standard IP data is used) with a data cost of $3.20 per MB. That plan has a 12-month term commitment. If your application is occasional or short term, we offer prepaid BGAN plans with usage as low as $6 per MB. The prepaid vouchers have the benefit of a 730 day validity from the date you purchase. There are several other options besides BGAN that may be more cost effective, but we would need to have more information about where you expect to operate before offering those. I will ask a sales person to contact you.

Joe

Date 1/27/2015

Hello, I have read a lot about making calls through the Iridium Go, but wondering if I can receive calls through it? If so, does it require a special number, or would my cell number work? Looking for a phone solution for my cabin in remote Alaska. Thanks, Joe

Joe

Date 1/29/2015

Thanks, Jim. Very helpful!

outfittertech

Date 1/28/2015

Hi Joe, Yes, you can receive calls on the Iridium GO!, too. Up to 5 smart phones or tables could be connected to the Iridium GO! at any give point. So, when someone calls the Iridium GO! number, all the smart phones/tablets that are currently connected will ring. If the wrong user accepts the call, he/she has the ability to hand off the call to any other user right from the Iridium GO! app on their smart phone. As for routing calls from your cell phone to the Iridium GO!, the best way would probably be to get the optional U.S. phone number service for $9.95/month. The US phone number is assigned to your Iridium GO! making it easy for people to call you. I would think that it would be straightforward to forward your cell phone calls to the US phone number, too. The Iridium GO! service plan includes 2-stage calling service that lets your callers call a US number and enter your Iridium mobile number and route to your Iridium GO!. Unfortunately, if you forward your cell phone to the 2-stage access number, your callers would still have to put in your Iridium mobile number when the 2-stage system prompts for it. So, I would suggest using the optional dedicated US phone number for a forwarding application. Regards, Jim

John thomas

Date 3/4/2015

I travel to Nicaragua frequently to remote regions. With the go. Unit work there with my iPhone. If so how much would it cost for a complete setup and a monthly low usage plan voice and text. Thanks John

Doris Orman

Date 3/6/2015

Yes the Iridium GO! will work in Nicaragua, this would not be an issue. You can find the current cost of the unit and the cost of airtime here, http://outfittersatellite.com/activate-iridium-go-service.html just click your desired option for either prepaid or postpaid airtime. Please be advised that we are only able to ship to US addresses and accept credit cards drawn from US banks.

Tanit Plana

Date 3/15/2015

Hello, I am planning an artistic research project in Antarctica. For the project, I would need to be able to connect with a "real time satellite tracker website" to be able to take pictures a certain moments related with the satellites passing near by. Would you recommend me the IRIDIUM GO! or I would better go with the BGAN? Is the BGAN portable? I mean, would I be able to take it outdoors or does itneed a permanent power supply? Another question is, is there any chance to rent it for a certain period of time? I just need it for the project, so I would rather rent it. I would be traveling form Barcelona to Antarctica, would it be recommended to buy/rent it in Spain or in Argentina? Thanks a lot in advanced.

Doris Orman

Date 3/17/2015

You will want to look closer at the BGAN unit for your project depending on where you are going. Antarctica is just on the edge of coverage for these satellites so you will need to be on or very near the coast to get signal. Also, depending on the temperature of your destination- the unit that we rent is the HNS-9201 BGAN terminal and it has an Operating Temperature of -25° C to +60° C. It carries Standard IP data rate of up to 492 kbps. We do only ship orders in the United States. You can learn more about our BGAN rental program here http://outfittersatellite.com/rent-hughes-9201.html

Greg Wilkinson

Date 4/20/2015

We spent 8 months bouncing between Turkey and Greece and our biggest problem was wifi. Two hotspot devices were needed, two SIMS and very restrictive packages not easily topped up. We plan to continue our journey in May this year until October.... Will the GO solve the wifi problem for us? Greg

Doris Orman

Date 4/21/2015

The GO! will serve as a hotspot for up to 5 people at one time for data or 1 for a voice call. Depending on the type of data you are in need of the GO! might be a good option for you. The GO! is designed for light web usage that is text based. So yes you will be able to get the signal that you were looking for, but possibly not the web that you were thinking. You can also learn more here http://outfittersatellite.com/iridium-go.html

Juan

Date 4/20/2015

Hi, I will be sailing in the French Polinesia next may and june,(Tuamotu Islands), and also in Mentawai Island, Indonesia in august...Do you think Iridium Go will have a good signal in both places? Can I check some ligth web page from its wifi internet? (like www.google.com/finance ) How long is going to take deliver and activate one unit to Florida? Could you recommend any plan ? Thank you for your advice.

Doris Orman

Date 4/21/2015

The Iridium is a truly global device, and will get coverage nearly anywhere you could go. As far as browsing the internet, the GO! is designed to work through the two mobile apps that you would download onto your smartphone. The GO! is not meant for major web browsing or posting. You will be able to do text based posting such as Twitter or Facebook etc. You can send pictures through the app as well as emails. The GO! has a data speed of 2400 kbs which is a slow connection. We can activate and get a GO! out the door with overnight FedEx shipping if you choose it. You can see more about the GO! on our webpage here http://outfittersatellite.com/iridium-go.html

Kate H.

Date 4/25/2015

So I've been all over the internet looking at a solution to stay in contact with a fishing boat off the Maine or Alaska coasts (fishing season permitting) . The Go! seems like a smart option for what is needed but I was wondering about the text messaging. In an earlier post it says that it could take an hour to send a 1mb image...would text messages take just as long???

Doris Orman

Date 4/30/2015

Kate, the Iridium GO! device has a data speed of 2400 bps (very slow). We suggest the GO! for light email activity and you would generally be satisfied, but sending emails with attachments larger than 100 KB can be difficult. As far as texting on the GO!, texts will go through fairly quickly. Since you will be out on the coast, you could also use the GO! to download third party weather GRIB file apps that are available for a small additional cost.

Carlos

Date 5/14/2015

I will be in the state of Chiapas Mexico during most of the raining period, June through November, with a team using aproxomately 8 computers. Would the go work during this raining season? since 8 computers will be needed (not five) would I need two Gos?

Doris Orman

Date 5/14/2015

The Iridium GO! will work during the raining season yes, however the GO! is not designed to work on computers at all. The GO! is designed to work on iOS devices as well as the Android systems. You would be able to use the GO! for your smartphones but not the computer. In the case of using smartphones, you would need 2 GO! devices to key in 8 phones.

SCH

Date 5/14/2015

I will be doing field work in far northern Greenland. Some WiFi web browsing, FTP, email, and data usage will be required, but not with overly large files. iOS and Mac. I get the impression that my only solution for the part of the world, at the moment, is Iridium, probably a Go setup. Is that correct? And I'd basically have to work within Go's limitations until the Next system arrives?

Doris Orman

Date 5/15/2015

You are correct that the Iridium GO! is the only option for that part of the world. However, the GO! is designed for light web browsing for text based programs such as Facebook or Twitter. Depending on the browsing that you are looking to do, you may not be able to use the GO! for that. As far as FTP, the GO! has a slower than dialup speed so depending on the size of files you are loading it will take quite a bit of time.

Leah

Date 5/20/2015

I am interested in the Iridium Go but I'm having trouble finding information on compatible cell phones to use with it. Right now we have a Motorola RZR and a Samsung Charge. Both are Android but I'm worried about the compatibility of these phones with this unit. Also, this unit comes with SIM card or I would need to add it? Does the dedicated US phone number option put a SIM card on it? Thanks for any info... Leah

Doris Orman

Date 5/20/2015

Leah, the Iridium GO! is compatible with iOS as well as Android operating systems. You can see more about the GO! on our site http://outfittersatellite.com/iridium-go.html The GO! service will come paired with your choice of airtime plan, and this will include a SIM card. You are able to add an option for a US based number during the airtime activation process. You can see more about the possible airtime options here http://outfittersatellite.com/iridiumairtime.html

Lily

Date 7/8/2015

I understand that with one Iridium Go, multiple users (upto 5) can share the device. But, would that mean that there is only one Iridium phone number? What if my friend and I used the Iridium GO, would we have the same Iridium phone number?

Doris Orman

Date 7/10/2015

Lily, You are correct, up to 5 users can use the Iridium GO! at one time for the text based services. Only 1 user at a time can utilize the voice capability. There would be one assigned Iridium phone number for the device as it is one SIM card.

Dave

Date 7/29/2015

I'm interested in the Iridium Go while I'm out on deep sea fishing trips off the pacific coast of Southern California. Would I be able to leave the device on (with the antenna up) inside a backpack on the deck of a charter fishing boat for 6-8 hours and be able to receive incoming calls on my iPhone reliably?

outfittertech

Date 8/2/2015

Hi Dave, Personally I would use an Inmarsat IsatPhone PRO or IsatPhone 2 for your application. As I understand it, you are wanting to take business calls. Business calls can often be fairly long. Iridium phones regularly have call drops, depending on the signal level you are getting. The call drops are acceptable if your application is occasional 5 minute calls to check into the office, but if you are getting lots of inbound business calls, you don't want to keep explaining the call drops to your clients. Iridium has regular call drops because it uses low earth orbit (LEO) satellites that move across the sky. So, at one point you have a direct line of sight with the satellite and good signal but 7 minutes later the satellite has moved behind a building or a mountain and if a second satellite is not immediately available to pass the call to then you get a call drop. By comparison, the reason an IsatPhone drops calls very rarely is that Inmarsat uses geostationary satellites. So, sit the IsatPhone up high enough on your boat (in the back pack if you want to). Just make sure the position has a 360 degree view of the sky and isn't close to other RF sources. If a call drop does occur its usually because someone walks up to the satellite phone and blocks its line of sight with the satellite. One more advantage of the IsatPhone is that it supports most Bluetooth headsets. We don't rent the Bluetooth headsets but if you don't already own one they are pretty inexpensive and available at Walmart. That said, though we don't have the US phone number service on the online version of the Iridium rental contract, we can offer by request if desired. The US number is on the online version of the IsatPhone rental contract. There is small setup fee and a per minute cost for the calls made to the US phone number that forward to the satellite phone. One more thing: whether you use an Iridium 9555, Iridium GO! or an Inmarsat IsatPhone 2, you should realize that there is typically a 20-30 connection time for the satellite network to setup the call. That is a lot longer than the setup time on terrestrial phone lines and cell phones. I cannot guarantee what would happen when your call forwarding system routes a call to the satellite phone. Call our customer service to setup a test and we'll see if your call forwarding routes to a satellite phone OK. Hope I have answered your questions. With Regards, Jim

outfittertech

Date 7/29/2015

Great question! The Iridium GO! has an internal battery that provides up to 7 hours of talk or 16 hours of standby. The Iridium satellite and Wi-Fi signals should easily go through a backpack which is made of cloth. The Wi-Fi range of the Iridium GO! is about 100 feet if there is a clear sight. So, I would say yes. There should be no problem as long as the back pack is nearby and not behind a lot of metal superstructure on the boat. Also, make sure the back pack is placed so the Iridium GO! has a clear line of sight with the sky but NOT extremely close to other radios or in the plane of a radar. Outfitter Satellite both sells and rents the Iridium GO! If it is a short-term one-time fishing trip you might want to rent. Click here for info on rentals.

Dave

Date 7/29/2015

Rental sounds pretty good... does the Go rental include a US based phone number? I use a web based phone system to forward calls made by customers to my 800 number to my cell phone, so when I go out on a fishing boat, I would just reconfigure it to forward my customer calls to the Satellite Go phone number, but from what I understand it would have to be a US based number for the forwarding to work.

Emmanuel

Date 8/22/2015

If I use in facebook how many bytes of data is consumed during browsing or updating status.

outfittertech

Date 8/22/2015

Voice calling, SMS messaging, Email, Photo-sharing, Weather downloads, among other functions are well supported through the Iridium GO!. Unfortunately, FaceBook posts and web browsing are not generally effective applications. When the Iridium GO! launched it had the ability to do a FaceBook Post-by-Email. In 2015, FaceBook ended the functionality that Iridium GO! used to do FaceBook posts. The iOS platform also made changes that negatively impacted Iridium GO! web browsing. Iridium resolved these issues but in general the slow Iridium GO! 2400-2800 bps data speed is ineffective for web browsing except on a small number of highly mobile-optimized web sites. Iridium GO! is billed by the minute of connection time, not by the number of bytes of data consumed. There is an unlimited GO! data plan for a fixed monthly fee. Hope this information helps. Jim

ray

Date 10/20/2015

Since iridium next is coming when the speeds get 3g and 4g do you think a app like zello push to talk could be used with unlimited data?!

outfittertech

Date 10/27/2015

Hi Ray, Interesting question. According to Zello's website: "The app consumes 20 kB (kilobytes) per hour when idle...between 12kbps and 45 kbps when talking". The data consumption rate depends on the type of connection being used. It would adjust automatically to 12 kbps if 2G service was on both ends but is actually configurable in the range between 8 kbps and 40 kbps. It has been suggested there will be some successor product to the Iridium GO! under the Iridium NEXT network that will have about 64 kbps data rate. If that is true, yes that would likely support Zello Push to-Talk. Of course that is just my guess. That said, Outfitter Satellite already offers Iridium Extreme PTT phones under the current network. Service rates include a monthly fee which includes unlimited PTT communications amongst the client's Iridium Extreme PTT phones. There is also a monthly fee for the Talk Group or Talk Groups that you choose. If you keep your Talk Group strictly inside North America, you can have a Talk Group covering up to 300,000 km2 for free as long as you activate more than 3 Iridium Extreme PTT phones. The Iridium Extreme PTT otherwise has features similar to the regular Iridium Extreme phone and a slightly higher product cost. Let us know if you have other questions about Iridium Push to Talk. Outfitter Satellite is an authorized reseller of that service. With Regards, Jim

Mark

Date 11/8/2015

I am considering the Iridium GO! but need to confirm that it will work with a particular mobile web site. Is there any way I can get someone with a GO! to see if they can use a particular site (albeit slowly I am sure). Is there any way to get a command line app on a mac to work with the GO! Things like ftp, terminal, git, etc..?

Debbie Barrett

Date 11/23/2015

So the iridium go will work in the bush of Africa? My son is in Zambia and working on a new orphanage. He is in a remote location between Mansa and Kazembe in the Luapula area.

outfittertech

Date 11/23/2015

Debbie, Yes, the Iridium GO! will work throughout Africa. We recommend it for making phone calls, texts, and light email applications. We do not recommend it for web browsing. Right now we have both new and used Iridium GO!s for sale. Check out the following: http://outfittersatellite.com/iridiumphones.html Jim

outfittertech

Date 11/8/2015

Hi Mark, The Iridium GO! can be used for web browsing but Outfitter Satellite generally tries to steer our clients away from web browsing as a GO! application because 2400 bps is so slow. If you have a specific test on the GO! you want performed, let me know what it is. Also, let me know where you will be using the GO! and if you are going to be stationary or in a vehicle. Based on your answers I may recommend another product. Jim

Bob

Date 12/27/2015

I currently have a Wifi system on my sailboat. Is there anyway to connect to a computer via USB for SailMail instead of wifi? SailMail is certified to use the Iridium Go. Also, can the Iridium go connect to an existing WiFi AP?

outfittertech

Date 12/28/2015

Hi Bob, You can configure your computer to connect using Wi-Fi via the Iridium GO! Wi-Fi signal or alternatively the Wi-Fi system on your boat. I am not sure why it would be necessary to try to use the USB port. In any event, the USB port on the Iridium GO! is only for charging and firmware upgrades, not internet connections. We recommend that our customers strictly use the Iridium GO! and Iridium Mail & Web apps. These have been optimized for the Iridium GO!. We also generally tell customers to avoid using the Iridium Mail & Web app for web browsing. The Iridium GO! has a 2400-2800 bps data speed which is miserably slow for web browsing. Only selected mobile-optimized sites will work. The GO! is good for light email, texting, and phone calls. Yes, you can use the GO! data connection to support some third party apps. For example we have recommended the WeatherTrack GRIB app for iOS users. If your app doesn't appear to work, it may be a problem with the slow 2400-2800 bps Iridium data rate or it might be that you need to make some adjustments to the Iridium GO! firewall settings. You'll just have to play with it. I don't have experience with SailMail. We offer SpeedMail which is free to our users, works on Iridium phones including the Iridium GO!, and also can be used with other networks (agnostic). I would assume SailMail is similar, but you should take that up with SailMail. Let me know if I have answered your question(s). Best Regards, Jim

maurice

Date 4/15/2016

Is there an app/software for the macbook, so I can recieve email on a macbook when connected to the irridium GO? the normal outlook doesn't work with the iridium GO. Thanks

Doris Orman

Date 4/15/2016

Maurice, There are two Iridium GO! apps, one is the Iridium GO! application and the other is the Iridium Mail and Web app. These are the only two, and they must be downloaded from your device's app store. At this time, the GO! apps work only on Android and iOS smartphone/tablets. In order to use the mail function, you must be in the Mail and Web application and it is a designated Iridium email. In order to retrieve your regular email, you would need to set up your Iridium email address and have your Outlook forward into that address. Here is the link for the Iridium email registration- https://www.iridium.com/iridiummailampwebregistration. If you have further questions we have a team of trained sales staff available Monday through Friday 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM CT. Thank you, Outfitter Satellite

Georges Mikhael

Date 4/27/2016

Hello there, I have a question about the applicability of the Iridium Go for our specific use. We are a team of mountaineers going on an expedition to climb Mt. Denali in Alaska. We need to be able to call home every other day or so to check in with family, but we also need to be able to daily send 2-3 photos or text messages and short voice notes via applications like "whatsapp" or "viber" that a team manager at home can use to post on facebook/twitter and write up. No need to access any websites or email, just using the above mention use. We would also need a device with a very low technical, setup learning curve and that would be reliable. Will Iridium Go work for us? In past expeditions we have used, BGAN terminals, but their rental, airtime, and data cost were really super high as well as complicated to use.

Georges Mikhael

Date 4/27/2016

Hi George, The Iridium GO! is very effective for transmitting photos and texting. It has a special compression feature for photos. You can adjust for more or less compression but if you use the DEFAULT compression settings you will get photos like the ones shown in another blog on this site: https://www.outfittersatellite.com These photos were sent through an Iridium GO! from Denali. Depending on the compression, the photos I have sent through the Iridium GO! took 5-10 minutes each to transmit. We rent the Iridium GO! and have an UNLIMITED DATA and TEXT plan for it. That is a good plan if you are going to send a lot of photos. One limitation of the Iridium GO! is that it is only intended for use with iOS or Android smart phones tablets -- not Windows or Macintosh computers. If you will be using a laptop, then we can rent you the Iridium 9555 with an Optimizer Hotspot and a battery to run the Optimizer. This combination has the same ability to transmit photos but it is more cumbersome to setup. We also rent the EXPLORER 510 Inmarsat BGAN terminal. It is a fairly small BGAN and has much faster data speed than the Iridium. Excessive data usage cost on a BGAN usually means you need to turn off background processes in your smartphone or computer. You can also rent an Optimizer with the BGAN. The Optimizer blocks all traffic except its own email and web browsing programs. For information on the EXPLORER 510 click here. Jim Outfitter Satellite

Holger Heye

Date 6/27/2016

Good day, I am wondering if the Iridium Go! is intrinsically safe for operation on ships - oil tankers?

Holger Heye

Date 7/11/2016

Hi Tim, Sorry for not getting back with you sooner. For some reason our system didn't transmit your question to my inbox until today. No it is NOT intrinsically safe. Jim

Kristin

Date 6/27/2016

Hi! I saw that this supports five devices, does that allow us to use five seperate email addresses? Or does that only allow for ONE email account but open on five different devices? THANKS Kristin

outfittertech

Date 7/11/2016

Hi Kristin, Sorry for not getting back with you sooner. For some reason our system didn’t transmit your question to my inbox until today. Good question. All the smart phones that are connected can have their own email addresses. There is only one phone number though. If one person is making or a receiving a phone call, everything stops until the phone call is completed. If an inbound phone call arrives, all 5 of the devices would ring. The first one to answer it gets the call. The call can be transferred to one of the other smart phone users later though. Let me know if you have any questions. Thanks, Jim

Holger Heye

Date 8/22/2016

Hi Jim, does Whatsapp work with the Iririum Go? rgds, Holger

outfittertech

Date 8/25/2016

Hi Holger, No, that app is not supported. WhatsApp is mostly designed to get free texting. Other than the Iridium GO! app and the Iridium Mail & Web app, the only apps we recommend are SailMail (for email), PredictWind Offshore (GRIB) and SailBrib WR (GRIB). The Iridium GO! app itself supports texting and plans unlimited texting are available for $99/month (plus any applicable tax, USF fees, etc). If you choose a prepaid GO! plan, texting is really cheap. For example, on the 500-minute (30,000 unit) prepaid plan, texting is only 10-units per SMS message sent so you could send 3000 texts and have 1 year of service. Hope that helps. Jim

Nikki

Date 9/16/2016

Hi, I'm a doctor who is considering the iridium Go for taking emergency calls while I'm out of my carrier's cell service area in Colorado. With the 2-stage calling option would my patients be able to leave a voicemail without cost to themselves? Also, would there be any issues with their cell carriers blocking the 2-stage service? I've read that certain carriers automatically block calls to satellite phones. I intend to use the hotspot as more of a beeper and then drive in to town to return the call with my normal cell service. However, would you consider the outbound calling decent enough to call in prescriptions with the hotspot? Thanks, Nikki

outfittertech

Date 9/21/2016

Hi Nikki, You can get both 2-stage or +1 Access for your callers. 2-stage means your caller dials the following US number (480)768-2500 and when prompted enters your Iridium mobile number. The call is billed to your Iridium GO! account at your 2-stage rate. +1 Access means your GO! is assigned a US phone number. The caller dials it and the call routes directly to your GO! and the call is billed to your GO! account at the +1 Access rate. A cellular carrier would not block either 2-stage or +1 Access because they are both US phone numbers. When you read that "certain carriers automatically block calls to satellite phones" what was being referred to is calls to the satellite phone's direct mobile number. If you call the Iridium phone's direct mobile number that is an international call to the 8816 country code. If you cellular phone's rate plan is not setup for international calls to that country code, the call will not go through. The Iridium GO! is a GREAT text or SMS messaging device. There are several plans that allow unlimited SMS messaging for a fixed monthly fee. In my opinion the most effective way to send messages to an Iridium GO! is through the Iridium Messaging Portal. You can also send emails to the Iridium GO!'s email-to-text email address. You can also send text messages directly to the Iridium GO! mobile number (but the issue there is that the cell phone sending the message needs to be set up for international texting to the 8816 text gateway). Calling through the GO! is definitely pricy compared to a a cell phone. The Unlimited Text+150 Plan includes 150 minutes of voice calls per month and then additional calls are $1.09 per minute. Let me know if I can be of any additional assistance. Currently we have a great price on the Iridium GO! ($725 new). Regards, Jim

Seshadri Kannan

Date 11/1/2016

Can you let me know if there is a way to configure the GO so that not all users see all SMS Text messages? Can user profiles be used to set this up?

Doris Orman

Date 11/1/2016

Seshadri, I understand the need for privacy, however at this time the Iridium GO! does not have the option to create separate user profiles. Thank you! Doris

Add Comment

?